Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Home Tiki Bars

Tiki Bars - San Francisco

Pages: 1 8 replies

J

First post ever in this forum. I wanted to start a discussion about Tiki bars near / around San Francisco. I'm very new to Tiki in general (So take that with a grain of salt). I felt that I had to post this. Having gone to Smugglers Cove in San Francisco many times, and Forbidden Island in Alameda about two times, I felt anxiety visiting Trader Vics - Emeryville for the first time. I was very underwhelmed by the quality of the drinks served ad Vics compared to the other Tiki bars I had visited. The quality of the rum put into the drinks was sub par. The Original 1944 Mai Tai was pretty decent, but did not hold a candle to the quality served at Smugglers Cove. The Navy Grog was OK, and packed a punch. But given the choice -- I would visit Smugglers Cove in a heartbeat compared to Vics. So I was a little disappointed and disenchanted with my visit. Wondering if I just ordered the wrong things, or it was an off night?

Not much compares to Smuggler's Cove. Expect to lower your expectations a little when going anywhere else.

J

Yeah. I fell that I visited them in reverse order. :wink: I work in San Francisco in SoMA. So Smugglers Cove is kinda Home Base and accessible. I live in the East Bay, so I felt that I had to branch out, and visit all of them to get a real Tiki experience in the bay area. Wondering if there is any point to really trying a lot of other tiki bars, or just go back to the cove.