Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Drinks and Food

Recipe Compilation Software / Ideas

Pages: 1 9 replies

R

Hello:

I am new to Tiki Central but have enjoyed all of the amazing topics and discussions. I do have one question. How does everyone record cocktail recipes for easy future reference?

I have a couple of the Beachbum Berry books and they are a great reference to have on hand at the bar. However, there are a ton of recipes that are posted in forums (like Tiki Central), on podcasts (like 5 Minutes of Rum), Instagram, etc, etc, etc. I usually save the page but this is not a great process for finding a particular recipe in the future.

I have looked at some software that allows you to enter your own recipes into the database (like My Cocktail Bar) but it seems a bit limited. It would be nice to have a place to easily search your own saved recipes while at the bar. This could be via iOS, Android or even a DIY paper book.

Any ideas out there?

Thanks,
Rick

I have a google doc (regular word-type document, not spreadsheet) where I keep those kinds of "found" recipes. That way I can access it even if I'm at the in-laws' house and it's easily searchable when it gets huge and you're looking for a particular ingredient.

EDIT: I should note that I have a 7" tablet that's almost always with me, so the whole "looking it up in a flash" thing is very easy for me.

[ Edited by: HopeChest 2016-01-14 09:21 ]

Rick, welcome to Tiki Central!

Good question, you're not the first to have this dilemma. I use three-ring binders with Word documents (reprintable in case I splash/spill during production of drinks, and it allows me to have extra copies on hand to give away to my bar guests) but am considering buying inexpensive tablet PCs for both my drink menus and to store my recipes for easier-than-notebooks use at my bar.