Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Home Tiki Bars

The Florida Room

Pages: 1 24 replies

Y
Yoshi posted on Mon, May 9, 2016 7:18 PM

Hi Tiki people

I'm really new to this, but I am a quick learner. I'd love for some suggestions from anyone and everyone about how to really make this space pop. I have some serious limitations and challenges, but also have some amazing opportunities to make an incredible space. First of all, this is a rental so permanently affixing anything to the walls is a no go. Second, this is a three season room (it's not insulated but it is totally enclosed so we can use it from April to October). Currently it's being called the Florida Room, named in honor of a friend of mine who passed away suddenly. She told me that people in her area called this sort of space a Florida room. Once she said that it gave me the idea to do it up like the tropics. After doing some google image searches for inspiration I came upon this site and was totally blown away by what you all have done with your spaces. Here's what I have so far. I'll add more photos later this week. It's a great space already and I'm excited to take things to the next level.

[ Edited by: Yoshi 2016-05-09 19:19 ]

[ Edited by: Yoshi 2016-05-09 19:21 ]

[ Edited by: Yoshi 2016-05-09 19:23 ]

Y
Yoshi posted on Tue, May 10, 2016 7:05 AM

Here are some more photos of the space. I've only just begun, as you can see. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

8T

Yoshi, welcome. A rental space is always a challenge. My number one suggestion for you would be to focus on lighting. Lots of subtle mood lighting will really help. It looks like you have a unique ceiling so maybe you can hang some things from there that will help visually. Good luck.

Y
Yoshi posted on Sat, May 14, 2016 4:33 PM