Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Drinks and Food

What Rum(s) do I still need

Pages: 1 13 replies

A
arbeck posted on Mon, Jan 2, 2017 4:37 PM

I'm not new to making cocktails at home, though I am new to making Tiki drinks. My wife has always been big into Tiki drinks/bars and for Christmas I ordered her both the Smugglers Cove book and Beachbum Berry Remixed (though this one is on backorder and has not arrived). I had a pretty well stocked bar (both liquor and mixers), but I added a few extra rums and make a few of the syrups (honey, vanilla, etc). I do enjoy sipping rum, so most of what I had was stuff I liked to sip. I was a little thrown off by the way the Smugglers Cove book categorizes their rums, but I only had to buy a couple to fill all the holes but one or two. Here's what I've got:

Pot Still Lightly Aged
Smith and Cross (just purchased)

Blended Lightly Aged
Denizen (this is unopened but saw it on sale and was a fan of the 8)
El Dorado 3 (I used this as "silver" rum previously)

Blended Aged
Denizen 8 (had in a rum flight and bought as a sipper)
Doorly XO (tasted at Total Wine and More and bought as a sipper)

Column Still Aged
Ron Abuelo 7 (had in a rum flight and bought as a sipper)
Bacardi 8 (this was my "gold" rum mixer)

Black Blended
Hamilton 86 (just purchased)
Pampero Anniversario (one of my favorite sippers)
Cruzan Blackstrap (Not sure it fits here, but I had it for making jungle birds)

Black Blended Overproof
Plantation Original Dark Overproof (not on the list, but I only have access to this and Lemon Hart)

Martinique Blanc
Bull Run Pacific Rum (this doesn't technically qualify, but it sure tastes like Agricole to me)

Martinique Vieux
I don't have any of these. I have access to Clement VSOP, Neisson Eleve Sous Bois, Rhum JM VSOP, and JM Rhum Gold. I have hesitated to buy any of these because of the cost (all over $60/bottle)