Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Gallery

Garden Tools / Made from Palm Fronds

Pages: 1 2 replies

Hey guys, new member here.. New post, hope I am doing this right...

I am a California native living in the Balearics since 2014 - I work as an artist from my studio on the island, making music, paintings, sculptures, surfboards and other experimental form exploration. One thing I really like to do is work with the materials around me, ie. Field recordings / Sculptures / Prints from local stone etc.

A recent project I tasked my self with was to create organic garden tools from my palm tree fronds. I have built surfboard fins from the same material so I thought I might as well try some other useful objects... Though the wood is way to soft to be any use past a few swipes I found these objects to be memento sculptures of my time spent in my surroundings.

Here are some specs and a few pictures if you are curious! Ill be back to share some more things as well as diving in to some of these amazing posts I have been reading. I am inspired to find this site and stoked to share a bit of creative juice from a fellow exotica fan.

Es Jardi Garden Tools | Mallorca, Spain
I shaped these from a few palm fronds that had fallen - I wanted to make some tools rather than buying them. This is a form of human sustainability practice for me - finding ways to avoid industrial commerce for personal solutions is one small step forward for a better connection to our environment and self.

Note* I can see these hackers looking weapon like... Defiantly not the intention - I'm not in to violence or over protection, keys, walls etc etc. No weapon is worth bearing for protection (though I understand how some scenarios change this effect.)

Dimensions
Tool I - Jardi Pala aka ‘The Van Weel'
[King] Palm Frond
74 x 4.25 cm
R Handed
Single Concave to Hull to Foiled Nose
Grip Depth: 4.25 cm