Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Home Tiki Bars

Flame treating bamboo

Pages: 1 12 replies

K
Kcb posted on Mon, Jan 30, 2023 6:21 AM

Can anyone give me some advice on flame treating bamboo?

I have some green bamboo and tried both paropane and map gas. I can kind of get it to work but takes about 30 minutes to get a 12” section to turn tan and even with that sometimes I can’t can’t it to turn with out burning it.

The videos I watched it just seems to go pretty quick and easy

W
WWBBQ posted on Mon, Jan 30, 2023 6:29 AM

I have found that you need to let it naturally dry first, (in the sun or garage with a fan on it), till it turns tan/light brown naturally. What is happening is there is so much moisture in the green bamboo, all you are doing is evaporating moisture first, before it will burn. Give it some time to dry, then try. Same is true with flaming treated lumber.

I am no expert, are you looking to add color or prevent insects? I read that you need to burn it while green to kill insects and to destroy the sugar that they want to eat, that's what I did. But I also hear that doesn't work and you need to soak them in a borax(?) solution to kill any bugs?

Awesome, thanks! That’s what I was thinking was the problem

Hey KCB, torching bamboo was my very first episode of A Moment of Tiki. You can check it out here: A Moment of Tiki: Bamboo.

Not to disagree with others here, because one should always go with what you find works the best for your personal situation, but I've found dried bamboo much more difficult to work with. It always scorches for me and it's hard to judge the color change. Just using a handheld torch I'm able to get dramatic color change fairly quickly, plus the resin bubbles up to the surface which can then be wiped down to provide a modest degree of weather protection and a glossy finish. You don't get the resin effect with dry culms.