Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Drinks and Food

Vegetarian food for Tiki Nite?

Pages: 1 24 replies

Any suggestions?

Im really new to the whole tiki thing. I got the drinks all set, but what about the proper dishes? More than half of my friends are vegetarians or near-vegetarians.

Help!

Our very own tikifish has developed a smashing vegetarian luau... http://www.tikifish.com/tikirecipes.html

BINGO!

You guys are really great! Less than an hour and my question answered. Bravo

G
GECKO posted on Sun, Jan 11, 2004 1:13 AM

I serve my guest fish. Do they eat fish? I usually put some Hawaiian seasoning on the fish (Salmon or Mahi Mahi) and wrap'em with a banana leaf and throw it on da grill. The leaf steams da fish. You can use wat eva fo' da seaonings but try wrap'em in a banana leaf. Just tear off da banana leaf from da tree, then wrap da fish and tie it with rope or wire to hold in da steam.

If you go to your local Asian food store they might have da Ono seasoning? Unless you have a Hawaiian food place.

I love the ONO seasoning with garlic pepper on grilled steak, AUUUWWWWWEEEEEE ONO!!

when you're trying to figure out what to serve a vegie - vegetarians usually don't eat anything "with a mother" or that "has eyes to look at you." and fishys are very much live animals.

these days, there are so many great meat substitutes, it's not that hard to just substitute any recipe you have with 'meatless' meats.

i personally think veat is the best commercial product on the market for most applications. - good to cook up and use in lieu of shredded pork, etc. (use the veat "bites" as opposed to the "nugget" variety). You'll find it in the frozen section - occasionally i have seen it trader joes and some regular markets. otherwise try your local health food store.

also don't forget to use vegetable stock instead of chicken stock!!!!! that's a big no no.