Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Beyond Tiki, Bilge, and Test / Beyond Tiki

Oil Companies R.I.P.

Pages: 1 14 replies

This is the real thing people.
Evntually they say air cars will be able to reach 100 M.P.H.. Obviously they will improve on the outer design
Take note that America (so far) will have nothing to do with it.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/europe/2281011.stm

http://www.cnn.com/2004/TECH/science/01/23/air.car/index.html

http://www.theaircar.com/tests.html

R
Rain posted on Mon, Jan 26, 2004 6:28 AM

toyota's hydrogen fuel cell proto:
http://www.toyota.com/vehicles/future/fines.html

and check this bad muh-fuh out:
http://www.toyota.com/vehicles/future/pm.html

i'm all for getting rid of gasoline/petrol based fuels, but oil companies make other stuff too - ANYTHING made out of plastic is a petroleum product - so we won't be able to get rid of them anytime soon.

T

I'm no scientist, but it's pretty well established that you can't get something from nothing, at least "energetically" speaking. So the car runs on compressed air/hydrogen/unobtanium? Those fuels still need to be mined/created/processed/transferred/installed, and that takes energy. While they may pleasantly reduce the amount of nasty pollutants spewing out of vehicles in a crowded city, God help the poor folks living next to the hydrogen extraction plant.

Most companies (even non-oil ones) are reluctant to jump on the new engine-tech bandwagon simply because of the huge investment in peripheral support systems required. Hydrogen powered car = good. Cost of dozens of hydrogen plants and thousands of filling stations = not so good. Getting car companies to invest billions because you say you will invest billions in processing/fueling and related support systems = highly unlikely. Hydrogen powered cars are already the Qudrophonic stereos of our time.