Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Collecting Tiki

Trader Vic's Seahorse Cocktail Glass - ???

Pages: 1 13 replies

I came across a lime green, ceramic Trader Vic's seahorse glass hidden in a cabinet on an older boat. I have tried to research it, both here and through Google... but can't seem to find any information on it, i.e. age, value, origin, etc.

I would very much appreciate any enlightenment from you Tiki officiandoexpertisers! Thanks so much!

Tiki Fire

[ Edited by: Tiki Fire on 2004-03-30 10:59 ]

im no expert in trader vic mugs, however i do know that the seahorse mugs were only available at the trader vics in hawaii. they came in blue and green. i happen to have the blue. im not sure how old they are, but i do know that the trader vics in hawaii is no longer, and has been that way for awhile.

:drink:

Welcome to Tiki Central Tiki Fire!
Nice find on the TV Seahorse, it's a great mug (IMHO).
Anyway, here's one currently up for auction...

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=3272754331&category=29460

And one thats completed...
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=3269055636&category=35801

Aloha,
:tiki:

[ Edited by: Tiki Royale on 2004-02-12 12:38 ]

Tiki Fire,
Trader Vic's in Hawaii was the only one who carried that mug. They were available in different colors - I have a blue, green and yellow one. The Hawaii TV's was the bastard child of the Trader Vic's organization. Their tiki mugs were unique to their restaurant and not available in any of the others.

TF

Thank you Royale for the welcome to TikiCentral and the links! And thank you also to Poly Pop and Tikicleen for the info on my mug!

I am more curious now... When do you think this mug dates back to? When did TV in Hawaii close and does anyone know why? Being from the SF bay area.. TV certainly has a long, landmark reputation.