Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Carving

Updated pics of my bar the Pi-Yi Grotto

Pages: 1 19 replies

J

I had been collecting tiki stuff to fill my bar for nearly 5 years...I still didn't have enough clutter so I decided to fill the bar with lots of lumber, powertools and discarded florescent light fixtures! Take a look!

I decided to go with a real time-worn, rustic feel so I ripped the existing lights out to leave gaping holes in the facade and created the look of tropical vines by having live Romex cable hang down into the room. Next I attached some furring strips to the quaint asbestos tiled ceiling to liven it up a bit!

Finally here's an overview of the new and improved Pi-Yi Grotto - come on in, have a drink but watch your step, mind the live wires, look out for stray fasteners, don't pay any attention to the upended furniture and just move that cordless drill off the barstool! The bar is open!

More photos to come soon...I'm contemplating a new name for the bar...Johntiki's Shit Hole - wadda ya think?

JohnTiki

Aloha from the enchanted Pi Yi Grotto in exotic Bel Air Maryland!

[ Edited by: johntiki on 2004-06-07 22:33 ]

P

An inspiration!!

P
Philot posted on Tue, Jun 8, 2004 8:38 AM

Looks like you had a hell of a party last night!

You've got a good start to work with. The swordfish is a nice touch. But mind those live wires, as someone pointed out recently, tiki decorating relies a lot on things that are dried plant material, and hence very flammable.

D

what about the name "Tiki Tenement"???

J

On 2004-06-09 06:12, docwoods wrote:
what about the name "Tiki Tenement"???