Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Carving

A Legitimate Counterfeit (Post Your Leroy Art Here!)

Pages: 1 2 3 106 replies

**Okay, I'm getting started on a new project, and have decided to do another step-by-step.

Aaron's Akua Official Disclaimer:**

For all of the new carvers, or lurkers who are thinking about learning to carve:
I'm no expert, just got started myself. Everything I've learned here was by asking the Pros who've been around for awhile.

For all of the Pros:
Feel free to laugh your ass off at my whacky attempts at carving. I have a knack for making things more complicated than they need to be.

Geek Alert: Like most people in the engineering field, I'm at least 75% geek, although I do my best to keep it undercover. On this post, I'm gonna let it all hang out. Anyone who gets queasy with this sort of thing should probably leave the room.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Here's my sketch:

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Who can figure out what famous tiki this is?

Anybody? Anybody?

A-A

"Ah, good taste! What a dreadful thing! Taste is the enemy of creativeness."
-Pablo Picasso

[ Edited by: Aaron's Akua 2005-11-15 00:26 ]

T

Leilani!!!

I like it, AA - "Tech meets Tiki". Is that CAD?

http://www.samgambino.com

it reminds me of the one Leroy is carving in the BOT

Cool start! Interesting how everyone starts differently...

I'll wager that your favorite subjects in school were MATH and WOODWORKING

It's a Reloy.

Tikiwahine wins! Buy yourself a mai-tai and send me the bill. It's from page 242 of the BOT.

The sketch above is a distorted view created from an unusual method of orthographic projections using the tracing below.

Yes, Sam. It was done using AutoCAD. More on that later.

That was the "counterfeit" part. And more on the "legitimate" part later as well....

Later,

Aaron

-Pablo Picasso