Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Central Ohana

Question for my Florida ohana

Pages: 1 41 replies

F

Once or twice in the last few weeks my wife has dropped hints that she would like us to relocate to Florida. This couldn't possibly happen unless I were to secure a job and a house first. I don't think this will happen, in fact, I'm not sure I want it to. But in the spirit of curiosity, how is the job market down there? I have extensive experience in screen printing (more than 18 years worth), a whole lot of bar tending experience, and I've worked in a kitchen or two in my time. Learning something new doesn't scare me at all. If anyone can point me in a good direction or even flip through a local paper for me I'd be grateful.

Mahalo!

HK

Fink -- I think our 2 local papers, The St Petersburg Times & The Tampa Tribune both have classifieds available on their websites.

It seems to me that there is always someone looking for a bartender around here. The hospitality industry in general is huge around here. Tons of resorts, hotels, clubs etc...

Josh
http://www.whoillycatsband.com

[ Edited by: Chip and Andy 2009-06-05 17:04 ]

Florida has alot to offer. I am a long-time resident that moved here in 1976. I have lived in every region from the Panhandle to South FL (some towns - Pensacola, Panama City Beach, Tallahassee, Tampa/Clearwater, Jacksonville, Ormond Beach, Miami, and now Deerfield) and can tell you that if you truly want to move, opportunities will present themselves. Miami is perhaps the one city I would talk you out of - unless you speak fluent spanish. The silkscreen industry is alive and thriving all over the state. Check out the Sun-Sentinel website for jobs, they have listings for almost every major city. Wherever you choose, real estate is the biggest problem - prices are high all over the state. Good luck and keep us informed.