Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Music

New Exotica music!

Pages: 1 22 replies

Aloha all! My name is Bill Ehrsam a.k.a. Tiki Bill and first time poster. My new bride and I recently attended Hukilau 2007 for our honeymoon, where I witnessed a mindblowing performance of "Voodo II" by Bob Drasnin. I make a modest living here in west central Floria writing underscore for TV and film. I've always loved Exotica music, but never tried to compose any. Mr. Drasnin's live performance changed everything. I was so inspired, I went to work as soon as I got home. I am posting an MP3 of my first of three songs so far, called "Island Mist", via a hidden page on my website. Here is the link:

http://www.mindshaftmusic.com/exotica_project.htm

I would like to hear from the Tiki community on what you think, i.e. "that's great" or "don't quit your day job" (oh yeah, my day job is writing music...).

Just for the record, this song is NOT all digital. Only the bass, vibes, congas, and flute are from digital samples. All other percussion and xylophone parts are REAL instruments, played by me. All samples parts are being replaced as soon as I can get bass and woodwind players here to the studio. Go to http://www.mindshaftmusic.com and click on "studio pics", and you will see it's not just cranked out of some "keyboard workstation" device.

Mahalo,

Tiki Bill.

[ Edited by: Tiki Bill 2007-06-29 08:09 ]

I love the song,
but can I make an assumption here?
is it all played on a keyboard?

all the layers of instruments is perfect. and the mix is dead on.
but I would really liek to hear it played with real instruments.
and the melody that the flute plays, wouldbe better suited to a clarinet.

please correct me if I am wrong. But the whole digital versions of Exotica
kind of turn me off, but your does sound really good.

congrats and keep up the great work,
Jeff(bigtikidude)