Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Other Crafts

More TIKI SCI-FI vibe sheets! 3/20 Page Two! Great Reference Stuff to Share!

Pages: 1 20 replies

i started this on my Art thread,but decided,in order to keep them all together.....
to post them on one thread! I'll be updating these from time to time as i scan them all...I'm gonna be posting the Tiki Sci-Fi ones first,then the Tiki ones,then the Hawaiiana ones after that.....There's hundreds of these pages that I've compiled over the years,and instead of hoarding them,i thought i'd share them with the Ohana! hope this inspires y'all!
Here's what i had written previously about these....the intro-so to speak...
Enjoy!
From 89 to around 2002 i worked in the surf industry
designing and directing tees,wovens,boardshorts,ads,knits,etc ad naseum...
so i started developing an image file....
well, this got to be quite messy so i
decided to start making "vibe sheets" where i'd take a subject and just paste
clipping on a page.....
i'd do it for Tikis/typefaces/comic book ads/retro logos....etc
After accumulating a 3 foot tall pile of them,I got bored and began to cross genres, and attempted to make them more collage-like and as separate art pieces in themselves....
These are from a series of about 30-40 i did cross-breeding
Tiki art and ephemera and Science Fiction pulps/comics/Astronomy books/old Space Travel stuff...
last year i posted some of my woven shirt
and boardshort prints for Hawaiian Island Creations....
one of them was a Tiki Sci-Fi theme....
that print was inspired by these sheets....
Well, i blab....so here's the first batch!

Please don't ask me where i got this stuff from!
I've been clipping stuff since1989 and getting source material from
old book stores/garage sales/thrift stores/friends/etc......
try to recall cutting out a picture almost 20 years ago...i dare ya!