Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Carving

Kountzyro Shows off his Polystyrene Tikis

Pages: 1 2 51 replies

K

Hello

This thread will showcase some of my sculptural creations. I work as a scenic artist building displays, props, and scenery for a variety of clients from museums, to department stores, restaurants and theme parks. So I have some access to materials to create some side-projects for myself. Here then, over the next few posts, are a few that I've built beginning with "Stoney":

Stoney is 11" tall, carved from white bead-foam, coated with a stippled and sanded application of Roscoe "Foamcoat", and painted with various layers of dry brush and wash techniques to give him a rough granite like appearance.

[ Edited by: kountzyro 2009-12-27 20:16 ]

[ Edited by: kountzyro 2012-05-11 22:27 ]

K

This is Woody:

Woody is 8 1/2" tall, constructed in the same fashion as Stoney, except for a smooth finish. He is give
a faux wood-grain look - natch!

P
Paipo posted on Wed, Jul 2, 2008 2:46 PM

Welcome to TC! Stoney looks great - I love the Hawaii / Rapa Nui stylistic crossover you've got going on.

K

This little guy has a futuristic quality to him that some friends of mine feel is like a robot/tiki hybrid.
I call him, R'Oboo, for that reason.

At a mere 6" tall, R'Oboo, is the smallest of my hand crafted tikis. With the paint effect I was trying for the look of some unknown, exotic, gem-like ore, perhaps like an alien hybrid of jade and marble. Also, I just wanted to have another blue tinted tiki, outside of my mug collection.

[ Edited by: kountzyro 2008-07-02 15:01 ]

K

Here we have a guy who reminds me somewhat of the famous Edvard Munch painting. I call him the Screamer, for no other reason than that, and the sad fact that I have a hard time naming my pieces.