Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Drinks and Food

What is the best bitters currently available?

Pages: 1 23 replies

I am new to bitters and would like to know what is the best kind to make Tiki drinks. I have access to some very good liquor stores near Palo Alto but would like to avoid mail order.

CJ

I like this topic. Fee Brothers have a large variety of flavors and from what I'm tasted they all seem good.

Fees old-fashioned bitters are great for tropical drinks (not so much for whiskey cocktails), but Angostura is the tiki standard. As for orange bitters, Regan's makes a great one. I haven't tried the Bitter Truth brand but I heard many raves about them.

I only found Fees in a few gourmet shops and since you live in Palo Alto, I'd recommend the Cask store in downtown SF.

On 2009-07-08 20:46, SuperEight wrote:
I am new to bitters and would like to know what is the best kind to make Tiki drinks.

That depends entirely on the cocktail you are making.

Most of the 'tiki' drinks that call for bitters use Angostura. Actually, most drinks that call for bitters use Angostura because they have been around the longest.

Most recipes that use something other than 'Regular' bitters will specify Orange Bitters, or Lemon Bitters, or whatever Bitters.

As an ingredient, most bitters generally don't do much on the tongue except be bitter. There are stronger and weaker notes in each of them and I have a lot of fun changing up the bitters used in a cocktail to see what happens. Where they all really make a difference is in the aroma of the finished cocktail. Some bitters are more aromatic than others, like Reagan's Orange, and can really take a cocktail to that next level as far as final presentation.

So, to answer your question directly, get the small bottles of what ever Beltramo's (sp?) has to offer.