Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Other Crafts

Maui Tiki Ceramics - by TikiRob

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 260 replies

M

Aloha, I thought I'd better start my creating Tiki thread and stop posting my "how to/in progress" stuff in the marketplace.

As you ceramic people know Glazing can be challenging and requires lots of testing. I decided to make some small pendants to test some glazing techniques and colors, since I'm new to all this ceramics stuff. They came out great and I'm out of control, I can't stop making pendants! I'm thinking I can make them into Christmas ornaments by adding a hook and a little red bow.

I started with a simple plaster mold of some caps to vitamin and make-up bottles/jars. then made "Blanks" with a little slip. I carved the blanks with my ceramics tools and made molds from these for the pendants.

I have 6 different tiki designs a skull and a Peace sign for my daughter.

I'm playing with painting on dark colors them wiping the glaze with a sponge, then adding a lighter color over the top. It's crazy because the glaze all looks red or gray, but it's actually really cool colors.

This box is scheduled to be fired in the next couple days (I don't have my own kiln...Yet!) I'll post photos when I get them back.

Now if I could only remember the glaze combinations so I could try them on some mugs!

MauiTiki

Tiki and flower pattern Stickers http://www.stuckonmaui.com
Maui Tiki Tours & Tiki Mugs http://www.mauitikitours.com
Hippie Stickers http://www.hippiestickers.com

[ Edited by: MauiTiki 2011-01-24 20:18 ]

[ Edited by: MauiTiki 2013-01-28 10:36 ]

[ Edited by: MauiTiki 2013-02-19 20:03 ]

[ Edited by: MauiTiki 2014-06-11 20:31 ]

[ Edited by: MauiTiki 2014-08-13 14:48 ]

[ Edited by: MauiTiki 2014-12-15 19:42 ]

"Now if I could only remember the glaze combinations so I could try them on some mugs!"