Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / General Tiki

Barkcloth/Upholstery Sewing Machine

Pages: 1 2 replies

I wasn't sure where to post this, so I'm starting here.

I have some rattan furniture that I want to make new covers for them. Individual cushions like most pretzel rattan has.

My question is...I'm a complete newbie at this but I'm good with my hands and figure I can suss it out. I'll need a sewing machine for the barkcloth.

Will any machine work, or do I need something a little more heavy duty.

I have dogs, so this won't be the first 14 cushions I do, they wore out the old ones in 3 years.

Thanks for the help and...Tiki on Garth!!!

You may need a more heavy duty sewing needle that will fit into a regular sewing machine. I have sewn barkcloth on my normal garden variety sewing machine w/ a regular needle. But on some fabrics you have to switch to a heavy duty needle. These are available at the sewing/fabric store and are inexpensive. They are usually color coded yellow and red, one being tougher than the other (I forget which is which) and they are usually sold together in the same package. They are universally sized so they fit all machines. If you are in doubt about how to proceed talk to the people in the sewing machine sales area of your local Joanne fabrics and they can tell you which needle to use.