Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Beyond Tiki, Bilge, and Test / Bilge

just a query

Pages: 1 10 replies

This is as Bilge a topic as you can get, but I've been a bit addled for that last few months. I've been working in television for the last 7 years, and coming in June what I do will no longer exist. I can't from the station I work at to another because industry wide, my position has been gradually replaced by a space bar. It's just progress I suppose, but I'm at a bit of an impasse. Theoretically I can pursue any career I choose but what jobs are considered viable these days? I'd like to get back to building bars and home theater centers/systems (is the position of Batman considered a growth opportunity?) but given the economy, I don't know how realistic that would be.Being that I'm not the only person going through wonky employment issues,I was just wondering how others are dealing with it? I would normally not post such a way off topic subject, but I am curious and maybe hoping to gain a little perspective with the help of some fellow tiki types.

`Okole maluna,
Erk

Erk, all I know is the medical professions. 10 years ago RN, Respiratory and Radiology were a job-hunter's market - we could not find licensed people to fill positions, I used to get 1 or 2 applicants per job posting. But word got out that jobs were plentiful, pay was decent (even though the hours suck), and schooling was reasonable (about 2-3 years). Now I posted a Respiratory position and got 25 applications. Some career counselors are still pushing medical professions but be careful.

On 2012-01-12 00:38, ErkNoLikeFire wrote:
my position has been gradually replaced by a space bar.

Damn, I'd be pissed off too!

Good luck whatever happens Erk!