Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Drinks and Food

Blending Rums

Pages: 1 12 replies

A

Does anyone have experience in blending rums? I was thinking it would be nice to have my own "house rum" but I'm not sure if there's a tried-and-true technique to follow. If anyone has any tips, or can point me to a web site or book with good info, I'd appreciate it.

Hey Arri I have extensive experience blending rums. E. G. : onuce Martinique rum, ounce Jamaican,ounce lime juice,1/2 oz. curacao,and 1/2 oz. orgeat-oh, I'm sorry,that"s shaken. Seriously, I just used some "Origine" rum in a couple of mai tais for my wife and I. Origine claims to be a blend of seven rums. I dunno. I do know that it made for a quite tasty mai tai. Check out the label-see what you think of the combo's they used. Kinda pricy for me ($28,, $10 off right now at Albertson's_.
Cheers, and good luck. Looking forward to seeing what you come up with.
David

I use a blend of Appleton Extra and Wray & Nephew Overproof as a decent sub for Smith & Cross, which isn't available through the LCBO. It's not the same but it does a pretty good job most of the time.

First off, this site helped me out a bunch http://www.therumelier.com/id59.html. Since taste is subjective and you are trying to create a personal blend, I'd say pull everything out of your cabinet, put on your lab coat and goggles, and get to work. Maybe a good place for us to help you better is to describe what types of drinks you will be making.

For drier cocktails, I sometimes use a combo of El Dorado and Appleton and a wee bit of Coruba. This mixture came out of desperation one evening and isn't too bad with lime, simple syrup, bitters, and a splash of soda water.

For what it's worth, Trader Vic's 1944 Mai Tai rum is nothing more than a 50/50 of their dark and golden (IIRC) rums.

A