Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Other Crafts

Various projects-updated 5/5/14

Pages: 1 44 replies

G
Gwen posted on Thu, Mar 21, 2013 10:11 AM

First of all, Hello- I am a newbie here.
I am keen to make a tiki fountain for the yard, and hypertufa is my material of choice. Looking around online, I see some water features using hypertufa, but I have also heard some words of doubt about it being too porous a material. Anybody have an informed opinion? Also, being new here, I am happy to accept advice if I am not posting this question in the best place. Thanks!

[ Edited by: Gwen 2013-05-08 10:59 ]

[ Edited by: Gwen 2014-05-05 08:28 ]

First. I hope you're a real person. We've had a rash of spam accounts the past few days.
Second, great dog portraits.
Third, I had no idea what hypertufa was until you posted it. It looks like the perfect material to sculpt a giant moai out of. So if you are real, thanks for posting. That's useful info that may come in handy.

There's a guy here who made a moai out of it:
http://www.tedsstuff.co.nz/artgallery.html

Looks like it would do a fine job.

So welcome, and if you plan on sticking around, be sure to make an introduction over here:
http://www.tikicentral.com/viewtopic.php?topic=6&forum=1&start=3600&3613

G
Gwen posted on Thu, Mar 21, 2013 11:33 AM

Hello Hale Tiki! I am very much a real person and not a spammer. I just went over and introduced myself on that forum.