Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Beyond Tiki, Bilge, and Test / Bilge

Looks like I'm really going to go for it: Pleeze tell me about livin' in Florida

Pages: 1 10 replies

S

I lived in the Northeast FAR too long!!! Can't Stand The Cold!!!
I really love warm & hot weather, and Florida does seem to have very decent real estate prices too.

i'd like to buy a small but nice house on a little bit of land (1/4 acre), and want to garden the entire land, compost, line dry, meditate, play guitar in the backyard, etc....
I'm thinking somewhere on the east coast near but not right on the beach would be great. I'm a musician and I'll have a little over 300k to make this move. I'd love it if the house didn't cost too much over 100K, so I could have 200k left in the bank. I'm 40 years old, but would like to live a semi-retired life of teaching private music lessons, substitute teaching when I need to, and hopefully gigging a little.
I like being green, vegetarian except seafood (which I love!), love to cycle everywhere, love art & culture etc...

So pleeze tell me what you might think I should know about livin' in Florida... Mahalo!!!

S

As someone who lived in Florida for 26 years too long I have to say..don't do it :)

Seriously good on you for making a change. If you want someplace warm where you can live an easy lifestyle FL is your place. Doesn't sound like you will be financially struggling...which is good since sadly FL does have a less than stellar economy job wise-I don't think the state has yet to come out of the recession. Housing should be cheap even near the water which is a perk.

I personally think the "culture" side is greatly lacking all over the state but once again it depends what you are into to.

I am from the Gulf side -- Tampa -- so I am not too familiar with the East side. All I know is when the hurricanes come they hit that side first.