Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / General Tiki

James Michener

Pages: 1 45 replies

Is James Michener the forgotten man of Tiki? It just struck me that Michener
is hardly mentioned at all on Tiki Central despite being one of the key people
responsible for conveying the exotic Pacific lifestyle to the wider world.
There's a chapter devoted to him in 'The Book', but there is little discussion
of his works outside that. Has anyone read his stuff? Seen the adaptations?

I'm no expert, as I've only read Hawaii, a copy of which was kindly given to
me by Tiki Chris. There's a copy of Tales of the South Pacific sitting unread
on my shelf, and a copy of James Michener's Hawaii album in my collection,
but that's it.

Anyone more familiar with his works? Does he deserve to be placed with
the Greats of Tiki? Or have too many people been scarred for life by watching
South Pacific being performed by their local drama group?

Trader Woody

[ Edited by: Trader Woody on 2002-07-31 01:48 ]

K

"Rascals in Paradise" by Michener and A. Grove Day is also a pleasant accounting of white men let loose in the South Pacific...worth a read if you haven't...

We rented the video "South Pacific" last year and thought it was great, so we bought the DVD. Then I read "Tales of the South Pacific" and, of course, thought it was better than the movie musical. I recommend the book highly because a) it is very well written, B)it contains wonderful descriptions of American GI's and nurses discovering Polynesia in the 1940's, and C) it was a huge best-selling book and helped spark the tiki craze. (See Sven's video for an interview with the author). I have two other books of his called "Return to Paradise" and "Rascal's in Paradise", which I have yet to read. All three books are commonly available in thrift stores and second-hand book shops.

T