Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / General Tiki

Tiki and Caribbean. Can they be mixed?

Pages: 1 2 3 114 replies

We had some friends over last weekend for cocktails and one of them asked, “Isn’t Tiki the same as Caribbean?” Not being into Tiki as much as I am, they thought the Tiki Bar could also be mixed with Caribbean décor or be one in the same. I said the two couldn’t be mixed since they are from different geographical areas but then again, I’m no expert. After thinking about it for a while, I knew where to ask this question, on the Tiki Central, so here it is:
Can Tiki be mixed with Caribbean or will this cause the Gods to be angered?

T

This has been hotly debated here.

I'd boil it down to this: the purists will say "no way", pirates and parrots are cool, but they're not Tiki. As you point out, Tiki is POLYNESIAN Pop, Not "Atlantic or Carribean Pop".

But there is another argument that says, since Tiki is a mutt of many things anyway, and is also just for fun anyway, is it a capital crime to have a parrot in your Tiki bar?

And of course, those people have a point, too.

My advice is to attempt to be a purist - but not a SNOB - whenever possible.
Stick to the Polynesian, but relax and don't be a weenie about it.

M

It already is a blend, as far as the drinks are concerned: Where would we be without the rum? Don & Vic saw to that.

I've said it before as well as a lot of others here is; As long as you're having fun!

K