Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Other Crafts

Any aspiring writers out there?

Pages: 1 24 replies

B
Brian posted on Sun, Apr 1, 2007 8:49 AM

Hey, I just wanted to see if there are any other aspiring writers out there who'd like to swap stories for a little you-edit-me, I-edit-you action? I'm starting to get involved in a writing group out here in the real world, but I'd like to meet some other writers who share my love of Tiki. I'd like someone who's into the scene to read my tiki-centric ramblings before I foist them upon the general public.

So, would anyone like to start a little on-line Tiki writer's group with me?

C
Cammo posted on Sun, Apr 1, 2007 9:17 AM

I'm a perspiring writer, does that count?

TT

I'm glad to hear people are still thinking of writing fiction based on Tiki. If you look at the old threads on "Is There Such A Thing As A Tiki Novel?" you will see that some people on TC tried to get some momentum going for a Tiki Writers Group a while back...but judging by how the thread died out, I'm assuming it fizzled.

Here it is: http://www.tikicentral.com/viewtopic.php?topic=10163&forum=1&vpost=104899&hilite=typee

I've been thinking of doing a tiki project myself, but I'm also working on my PhD in English Lit and teaching writing classes on the side, so I don't have a lot of time.

However, if you finish a short story or a few chapters of a novel, or even a first act of a script that focuses on Tiki...and want feedback...feel free to e-mail it to me and I'll give you a free critique.

You can check out my website at starvingwriter.com to see some of my older writing and check out some links to writers resources.

Good luck with the writing!

Hey Brian!
Right on topic! Great to hear there are other aspiring writers and creative types out there!