Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Drinks and Food

what rum for mixing?

Pages: 1 10 replies

I like to mix drinks and was wondering what are affordable rums to use. I am a student so I cannot afford to splurge alot on rum. So please mention any cheap but good light/dark rums. I don't drink rum straight up. I tried drinking a shot of Bacardi once and it burned.

M

On 2007-05-20 19:49, kingdomwinds wrote:
I like to mix drinks and was wondering what are affordable rums to use. I am a student so I cannot afford to splurge alot on rum. So please mention any cheap but good light/dark rums. I don't drink rum straight up. I tried drinking a shot of Bacardi once and it burned.

Castillo. Made by Bacardi, but without the advertising dollars. :)

K

I've found that almost anything from Cruzan is great for mixing, and it's only a few bucks more to get to Coruba.

But dude, you're a student. Since you have no money, buy liquor that comes in those clear plastic bottles now so that you'll appreciate the good stuff later.

Appleton White is $8-$10 for a 750 and its better than Bacardi.

Bacardi Select is an OK stand in for Myers (or other dark rums). It is about $21 a handle (1.75 L).

Cruzan dark would be my choice for an amber rum. Pretty good and about $20 a handle.

Find a good liquor store that passes distributor sales on to you. Distributors (if you're in a state that allows them) sometimes have inventory they want to dump, and they discount this a lot. Then just troll the liquor store once a week or so, and you'll see some stuff get marked down. I've seen Pyrat White rum for $7, Pyrat XO for $18, and some other stuff for 25%-50% off.

Thanks for the tips. I just went to a local liquor store and the owner picked out some Brugal dark and white rums for me. Was $9 a bottle. I plan to make some Mai tai when i get back home.

I will look at those brands next time i shop for rum.