Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Drinks and Food

Recipe: Coco Lopez Question

Pages: 1 38 replies

This is probably a stupid question, but I don't mind being humiliated online soooo.....

I bought a can of Coco Lopez, opened it up and found that it wasn't all liquid. In fact there was very little liquid in it, other than at the bottom. The majority of the can was a sticky coconut substance. It didn't taste bad or anything, I had just assumed it would be all liquid.

My question is: Is this normal? Is this the type of consistency that can be used for a mixed drink, like a Coconaut?

By the way: I made a drink that I thought was pretty good the other night. I'm a novice, so I really don't know if this is already an actual drink, its based on the Derby Daiquiri. I followed the Derby recipe except instead of o.j., I used passion fruit juice and instead of white rum, I used El Dorado Demerara.

Thanks in advance for replying to my question!

don't fear the coco lopez!!!

dude...you gotta stir it up because the heavy stuff settles like paint in a can from sitting on the store shelf.....stir it with a spoon till the consisitencey is such that you can measure it out in a shot glass or measuring cup....

..and the coconaut is precisly the drink you should use this for....follow the recipe and use a blender!!! the blender grinds up all the coconaut "chunkies" that might remain after you initially stir it up....and use fresh limes too goddamnit!!

[ Edited by: Tipsy McStagger 2009-04-01 15:29 ]

Thanks for the advice Tipsy!

Here's some info from another Coconut Cream thread:

On 2009-02-14 15:45, Limbo Lizard wrote:

On 2009-02-14 13:13, Haole'akamai wrote:
If it has remained unopened and sits for a long time, it can condense...