Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Home Tiki Bars

Pao Pao Hut

Pages: 1 2 60 replies

After watching the projects here on TC for several years, I finally broke ground on my home bar. Having a very small budget and even less space to work with, I decided to convert a small utility closet in my library. The area is nearly microscopic at 47" x 37", nonetheless, I'm determined to make something of it. Following a week of cleaning out all of the stuff and making a bunch of measurements and sketches, I was able to get started this weekend...

Here are a few photos of the progress-

Reclaiming a piece of wood I've been hauling around for some 27 years; never could bring myself to throw it out and now it's going to good use as the bar top... (dig that urban workbench)

Shot of the basic footprint...

Area with the weathered bar top and the bar frame going up...

Conducting the Bass test on the bar top... Had to be performed several times, but eventually passed.

This week, hopefully will get some tapa done then over the weekend can finish up basic wall coverings and bar top.

Any ideas for getting more out of small spaces, please advise!

Cheers!

Ashman, that's a hell of a tiki spirit to make something out of your little alcove! Good for you! There's no reason it can't be great. Since this tiki home bar area of TC has been started, I'm picking up lots of ideas and I'll bet you are too.

Thanks for the kind words Bongo. Definitely getting some inspiration from the "masters of the build" here at TC and this home bar forum. Someday I hope to go for the full out lounge, but at the moment we're renting so it keeps my ambitions humble. Still fun, though...

J

You are off to a good start. Just wondering though- Atlanta is more or less subtropical. Do you have any space outside that could be Tikified?