Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Drinks and Food

anybody have a good non-alcoholic substitute for rum?

Pages: 1 30 replies

I know, i know, it's tiki heresy, but I've given up cocktails for Lent, and it occurred to me that I might at least be able to enjoy the flavors of my favorite tiki drinks (esp., navy grog) if I can only come up with a workable non-alcoholic susbtitute for the rums.

I understand that there are pure and artificial rum extracts out there, but the McCormick's brand that is readily available has a high alcohol content, which rules it out.

any ideas?

I was thinking coca-cola with a little molasses added might work for dark rum...

Have you checked out any of the 'virgin' (N/A) drinks in Beachbum Berry's books? Personally, I'm giving up bourbon, scotch, rye, brandy & beer for Lent. That pretty much leaves rum.....

G

My wife is pregnant so I've had some experience trying to virginize some tiki drinks. The best substitute I have found is Perrier mineral water. I sub it ounce for ounce. It has a slight bitter taste that helps cut some of the sweetness. You also need to adjust the honey/rock candy syrups to get a good balance.

I also second the idea to utilize beachbum's NA drinks. The mint squash is the best - I can post a recipe if you need. The best thing I can say is that it doesn't taste like anything is missing. It is a great drink.

gabbahey

Monin puts out a "Caribbean Rum" flavored syrup. Nothing will be a perfect substitute for rum, itself, but you might give it a shot.

Just a thought, how about heating the rum to evaporate off the alcohol? The boiling point of ethyl alcohol is 172°F, perhaps at that temp is would boil of the alcohol without boiling of the flavor or the water. You could add purified water afterwards to bring it back to it's original volume. Safety would be an issue too.