Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Drinks and Food

Recipe: Trader sam's Grog Grotto zombie

Pages: 1 19 replies

Hi Friends,

I recently decided to try making the "shrunken zombie head" since I really liked it and don't get to visit Trader Sam's very often. The menu gives the following description and I've tracked down the rums and syrups listed (BG Reynolds, get stoked).

Menu description: Gosling’s 151 Black Seal Rum, Appleton Estate Reserve Rum, Bacardi 8 yr Rum, Tropical Juices, Falernum, and Cinnamon.

I'm pretty new at this, so I was curious to get everyone's feedback on how the recipe will look. (For the "Tropical juices" I've had good luck with 3.0 oz POG with 1 oz. lemon juice).

Here's my first instinct:

3.0 oz POG juice
1.0 tsp sugar (raw sugar)
2.0 oz Bacardi 8 yr Rum
1.0 oz Appleton Estate Reserve
1.0 lemon juice
0.5 oz falernum
0.5 oz cinnamon
0.5 oz 151 rum (floated on top)

Thanks friends!

[ Edited by: kreynolds 2016-01-19 17:39 ]

S

You haven't listed the syrups in your recipe and what is the 1.0 tsp of sugar. Raw sugar or a sugar syrup?

Thanks swizzle, I updated the recipe, sorry for the confusion!

K

On 2016-01-19 17:16, kreynolds wrote:
Here's my first instinct:

3.0 oz POG juice
1.0 tsp sugar (raw sugar)
2.0 oz Bacardi 8 yr Rum
1.0 oz Appleton Estate Reserve
1.0 lemon juice
0.5 oz falernum
0.5 oz cinnamon
0.5 oz 151 rum (floated on top)

My first note is that you have too much rum. Your total of alcohol is 3.5 oz for a 1 person drink which is not only heavy in general, but especially heavy for Disney cocktails. As a standard practice, most cocktails tend to max out around 2-2.5 oz. So, being that this IS a zombie which IS alcohol-forward, I'd do 1 oz Bacardi 8 and 1 oz Appleton, then the .5 oz Gosling's and don't float it - I've never seen it floated nor is it intended to be.