Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Drinks and Food

Triple Old Fashioned?

Pages: 1 23 replies

T

So...I'm new to mixing tropical drinks, and bar terminology in general. I was reading an article about the different types of glasses used, and the author mentions a triple old fashioned glass, which he says hardly anyone uses "except tiki bars".

I have yet to see any drink recipes that call for such a glass. Do you all know of any, or is this just a mild stab at tiki bars for their reputation of serving stronger drinks?

Good question! I have yet to see an official "triple" glass in the wild, but would not be surprised that, by volume, we in the tiki world have drinkware which cold qualify as such. I can take a reasonable guess that the author's attribution to tiki is likely because a number of drinks in our genre and repertoire are quite voluminous from the standpoint of ounces served in a single drink. We have fruit juices and other flavorings in addition to the booze, and then ice, and sometimes fruit garnishes and fruit chunks to thank for that.

So, I'll try to answer with the following:
"Average sizes" I found in my books for Old Fashioned glasses are:

6-10 ounces for standard Old Fashioned glass.
12-16 ounces for double Old Fashioned glass.

Then, purely by extrapolating volumes from the two-glass pattern above, I'm guessing that 18-22 ounces is logical for a "triple Old Fashioned" glass. This may also approach or correspond to the capacities of various tiki mugs and snifters and other miscellaneous glassware we use to serve a single person.

Remember your last trip to the Mai-Kai? I think that the Mutiny, Hukilau, and Black Magic are served in good-sized snifters, but I don't know how many ounces. Looks can be VERY deceiving volume-wise with drinkware, so I'll take one further guess that a "triple Old Fashioned" glass may not adhere to the extrapolation above.