Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Drinks and Food

Pineapples and other drink garnishes

Pages: 1 18 replies

Okay, I'm a newbie to the tropical coktail scene, being a beer drinker lo these many years.
How long does pineapple last? My wife and I enjoy a drink maybe a few times a week, but I've never dealt with pineapples before. Do they go bad fairly quickly? Can you freeze pineapple wedges? Do they make "fake" wedges just for the look?
I've got umbrellas and cherries (how long do those keep, BTW?), and was also wondering about other garnishes. Any tips?

Thanks, Patrick

This might be a start:
http://www.dole.com

Menu at bottom of page, click on "Ask Dole" which is their FAQ section.

Hope it helps!
SugarCaddyDaddy

A

I cut the pineapple into wedges and put it in a tupperwear container in the fridge. They last a couple weeks or so. If you freeze them they turn brown. I like to go to the Mexican Markets (like IGA),pineapple tends to be cheaper. I spear a couple PA leaves thru a cherry and a PA wedge, easy garnish. Cherries seem to last forever. I think they have a halflife of a thousand years or so.
Al

W

Of the pineapple, cherries, and paper umbrellas it's the paper umbrellas you have to worry about most. They can go stale pretty fast even if properly stored. It's best to buy them in season (early March to late February). Buy fresh. Domestic one's cost more than imported but the money is well worth it. If you happen to live in the eastern lower mid west upper central region you may find a u-pick cocktail umbrella farm which could save you a bundle.