Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Drinks and Food

Dark Rums

Pages: 1 22 replies

W
wupput posted on Mon, Feb 9, 2015 6:26 PM

Hi all,
I'm a bit of a newbie to making tiki drinks though I have enthusiastically been knocking out one or two a night for a couple of months. Anyway, apologies if I am duplicating an already discussed topic, but I searched and didn't find quite what I was looking for. I have some questions for you mixologists and rum experts on DARK RUMS.

So far I have been making drinks from the Beachbum Berry books and a few from this board and have tried a variety of dark rums. Here's my question:

It seems like a lot of the recipes call for dark Jamaican rums specifically. In Intoxica Berry recommends Myers but I'm one of the lucky ones who can actually find Coruba cheaper locally. I LOVE Coruba so far. Only OK as a sipping rum but I'm really enjoying it in my drinks. Every drink I've made with it has basically been a winner.

My question is, how substitutable are other rums for Coruba/Myers? For instance, I have Goslings and have tried that in place of Coruba and in some drinks it seemed totally fine. I've also tried Zaya which is a bit sweeter and more vanilla-tasting, and it certainly seemed to blend well with Appleton in a mai-tai, but might work for some drinks better than others. I also have Pussers, and have been thinking of picking up Cruzan Black Strap. But is Black Strap interchangeable with dark Jamaican? And where does a dark Virgin Island rum like Pussers fit in the greater scheme of rum categorization? Pussers looks pretty dark but the flavor seems a bit less sweet and more alcohol-forward than the other darks. And then isn't there a dark Appleton? Would that be a good substitute? Any others?