Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Drinks and Food

Starter menu for first home tiki bar - 6 drinks

Pages: 1 16 replies

So I'm opening my first home tiki bar soon, and plan to have limited get-togethers there, and I'm trying to work out a good, solid drinks menu.

Considerations: Not the richest guy in the world. Have always been more into the culture than the drinking, so I'm just learning tiki drinks.

I'd like a menu of around just six drinks. I'd ideally like a selection that includes strong drinks, fruitier easy drinking drinks, mostly traditional drinks, but not entirely. I'd like at least one non-rum drink.

Also, if anyone has suggestions for a bonus virgin drink, I'm all ears.

Well, ya gotta have a Mai tai on there. It's the quintessential tiki drink and it's not overly complex to make it. I also enjoy the Eastern Sour or the Rangoon Gimlet as a couple non-rum based drinks. A good fruity one is the Lei Lani Volcano. I also like Painkillers and Golden Waves....

But I'm probably one of the least qualified on here to talk tiki drink mixology...

Strong Drinks:
Zombie (Hurricane Hayward's is awesome and easier to pull off than the original '34 version)
Hell in the Pacific (Good drink AND good name)

Fruity, easy drinking drinks:
Blue Hawaiian (Even people who say they don't like rum or drinking in general don't say no to these)
Goombay Smash (All the ingredients are easy to come by and cheap to boot)

Personal Rec:
Mai Tai (you just have to have one)

Non-rum drink:
Port/Starboard light (for those who prefer bourbon/scotch)