Welcome to the Tiki Central 2.0 Beta. Read the announcement
Celebrating classic and modern Polynesian Pop

Tiki Central / Tiki Carving

Rodetiki's stuff, Another sketch pg. 22 10/20/05

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 322 replies

I have read the posts, but am still a little lost. My uncle just finished a custom log home and there are hundreds of logs. Most are around 4 feet tall and there is a monster 9 footer that is 4 feet in diameter. I am just wanting help on where to actually start my first carving.

Here is my rough sketch, let me know what ya think, I dont like the nose much. Probably going to try to change it. This is my first attempt at this sort of thing.

[ Edited by: rodeotiki 2005-10-19 13:06 ]

B

First of all welcome to TC, Second of all you are one LUCKY guy getting all those beautiful logs to carve.
First if possible I would try to get the wood under cover and out of the elements to preserve it. Second, if you Don't have it, go to Amazon.com and purchase a copy of "The Book of Tiki". Then get yourself some carving tools: shisels, grinders, sander, chainsaw and whatever you can get.
Then find a tiki you like and ask Bigbrotiki if it is alright for you to Copy it.
Then draw the tiki onto a piece of wood. Then just start cutting away everything that does not look like tiki.
Do it in stages and take pictures as you go and post the pic's so we can help guide youon to the next step.
Thenfind out if there are any TC Carvers in your area that might need some logs and would be willing to trade a little knowledge for somw wood.
These are just suggestions, but you gotta start somewhere. Hope this helps..

Hey Rodeotiki,

I'm not an expert at carving, far from it. In fact, I just started my first carving about 2 months ago and have been "chipping away at it" slowly ever since.